Appeals Panel (School Transport)

MINUTES OF THE APPEALS PANEL (SCHOOL TRANSPORT) MEETING HELD ON 18 MAY 2022 AT THE PRATCHETT ROOM - COUNTY HALL, TROWBRIDGE BA14 8JN.

Present:

Cllr Allison Bucknell, Cllr Andrew Davis and Cllr Tamara Reay

The appellant and school representative attended via Microsoft Teams.

1 <u>Election of Chairman</u>

Cllr Allison Bucknell was elected as Chairman for this appeal only.

CIIr Allison Bucknell in the Chair

2 **Declarations of Interest**

There were no declarations of interest.

3 Minutes

The minutes of the School Transport Appeal held on 5 April 2022 were presented for consideration and it was;

Resolved:

To approve the minutes of the School Transport Appeal held on 5 April 2022.

4 <u>Meeting procedure</u>

The Chairman outlined the meeting procedure as detailed in the agenda.

5 Exclusion of the press and public

The panel considered whether or not to hold the meeting in closed session and it was:

Resolved

To exclude members of the press and public for the business specified in Item no. 5 in accordance with section 100A (4) of the Local Government Act 1972, (paragraph 1 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A to the Act).

6 School transport appeal

The panel heard representations and replies from the Transport Officer and the appellant and asked questions of the parties involved. Upon consideration of this information, it was,

Resolved:

The Panel heard the evidence and acknowledged that by applying the transport policy, the Transport Officer recognised that the child wouldn't qualify for free transport due to being accompanied by an appropriate adult.

Having heard the evidence provided in the appeal, the Panel were persuaded on the information available that the child was not able to safely get to school unaccompanied and that the Appellant may not be an appropriate adult to accompany the child safely to school by walking means.

The Panel therefore recommended that a bus pass is to be provided and paid for by Wiltshire Council for a two-year period, starting from September 2022.

(Duration of meeting: 10.00am – 11.11am)

The Officer who has produced these minutes is Ben Fielding of Democratic Services, direct line 01225 718656, e-mail <u>Benjamin.Fielding@wiltshire.gov.uk</u> Press enquiries to Communications, direct line (01225) 713114/713115